*No other parties have been included, as parties need eight seats to maintain official party status in Ontario.

Check out CBC News’ Poll Tracker to view the latest polls and projections.


With the Ontario elections fast approaching, this post aims to serve you as your ultimate ‘one-stop shop’ guide to finding where the three political parties of Ontario stand on key First Nations-specific concerns and priorities. This post summarizes what has been released thus far from Elections Ontario and the Progressive Conservative, New Democratic and Liberal Parties of Ontario.

Kindly re-visit this post regularly as we will be updating it throughout the campaign as new pieces of information become available. Macleans website and Vice serve as an invaluable resource and guide that capture the larger landscape of the Ontario Election 2018.


All candidate nominations have closed by proclamation of the Lieutenant Governor of Ontario as on May 17, 2018. To see all candidates officially named in each party thus far, please utilize the following links:


The New Democratic Party has released their full party election platform.

The Liberal Party has not released theirs however, have pointed to 2018 Ontario Budget on current demonstration of commitments to First Nations voters; for voters to assess their commitments in moving forward for the next term of election; and in relation to First Nation voters specifically, to assess both the commitments/progress made in the “The Journey Together“and Budget 2018 in order to get a broad sense of their commitments moving forward for the next term of election.

The Progressive Conservatives, under new leadership (Doug Ford), have now been released: “Plan for the People.” The platform created under MPP Patrick Brown has become invalid as it was based on gaining revenue for a carbon tax, whereas Mr. Ford has promised he will not be implementing any carbon tax should he be elected as Premier.

A temporary summary chart of the parties’ election platforms has been attached  for your convenience. Please note that this will continue to be updated as official platforms are released. Election commitments were also made by all three parties during Leaders in the Legislature however, the Progressive Conservatives were under the leadership of MPP Brown at that time and have made no promises to stand behind the commitments made at Leaders in the Legislature 2017.

*Disclaimer: All wording choices have come directly from the political parties themselves. Chiefs of Ontario is a non-partisan organization and does not endorse any political party


Ontario’s population growth has prompted an expansion in the number of ridings. There will be 124 seats up for grabs in the 2018 election, up from 107 in the 2014 race. The change means a party will need to win 63 seats for a majority. Currently, the Liberals hold 57 seats, the Progressive Conservaties 28, the New Democratic Party 20, and two independents (MPP Jack MacLaren’s and MPP Patrick Brown – Both previous Progressive Conservative MPPs).

There are two new ridings called Kiiwetinoong and Mushkegowuk-James Bay. Kiiwetinoong is a majority Indigenous riding, while Mushkegowuk-James Bay has a population that is about one-third Indigenous and 60 per cent francophone – created with the intention of adding representational political figures into Queen’s Park.


 Chiefs of Ontario Legislative Blog

View by Topic/Sector under each Political Party via Spreadsheet 

You can jointly view updates via this blog and our Chiefs of Ontario website.

Recently, the Chiefs of Ontario hosted a Q&A Contest – asking First Nations citizens to post questions they would like posed to the party leaders regarding each of our priority sectors. The top two questions from each sector were then posted to be voted on. Voting has closed, and Andrea Horwath (NDP) and Kathleen Wynne (Liberal) have responded. The PCs have notified Chiefs of Ontario that Doug Fords responses are forthcoming.

Voting Information

The Elections Ontario Website has everything you need from finding where your local polls are located, which riding you are in, what ID you require to vote, which candidates are running in your riding, to registering to vote.

The Elections Ontario Website can be found here: